Moton Council

The Moton Council is the Museum’s operations and community engagement board.  Call (434) 315-8775 x 3 to build with the Moton Museum.


Dorothy Holcomb, Chair
Representing Prince Edward County Students, 1959-1964

The Honorable A.D. “Chuckie” Reid, Vice Chair
Representing Prince Edward County Branch NAACP

Cynthia L. Johnson, Secretary & Resources Chair

John Melton, Governance Chair
Representing Fuqua School

Joy Cabarrus Speakes, Development Chair

J. Michael Utzinger, Programs Chair
Representing Hampden-Sydney College


Magi Van Eps 
Representing Virginia’s Crossroads

Dr. Barbara Johnson
Representing Prince Edward County Public Schools

Edwilda Allen Isaac
Representing Martha E. Forrester Council of Women (Moton’s founders)

Claudia Meinhard
Representing Centra Southside Community Hospital

Grace Moton

Melvin Nunnally

The Reverend Tom Robinson

The Honorable Howard Simpson
Representing Prince Edward County

Sherry Swinson
Representing Longwood University

Joy Stump
Representing Farmville Area Chamber of Commerce

Charles Taylor

The Honorable Sally B. Thompson
Representing Town of Farmville

Beatrice White